What is PDCA?

PDCA stands for Plan-Do-Check-Act.

The cycle is:
  • Plan: establish the objectives of the system and its processes, and the resources needed to deliver results in accordance with customers’ requirements and the organisation’s policies, and identify and address risks and opportunities;
  • Do: implement what was planned;
  • Check: monitor and (where applicable) measure processes and the resulting products and services against policies, objectives, requirements and planned activities, and report the results;
  • Act: take actions to improve performance, as necessary.

The PDCA cycle is found in ISO 9001:2015 can be applied to processes and to the quality management system.

Our Introduction to ISO 9001:2015 training course teaches delegates how to use the PDCA model for managing risk and facilitating continual improvement.